Monthly Archives: July 2016

Some Surprises and Contradictions in New British Cabinet: Boris Johnson as Foreign Minister and Philip Hammond as Chancellor of Exchequer

The new Conservative British Prime Minister Theresa May has made some interesting appointments to her new cabinet. First of all some big figures in the previous Cameron cabinet are not included. This includes most notably as Chancellor of the Exchequer … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Corbyn wins British NEC Labour party vote: his name will be on the ballot in fall leadership contest

The embattled Labour party leader has won a significant victory at the meeting of the National executive of the Labour party of Great Britain. The executive committee voted 18 to 14 that Corbyn had an automatic place on the ballot … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Theresa May 199, Andrea Leadsom 84, Michael Gove 46 Gove eliminated and Leadsom drops out. May will be prime minister.

The Michael Gove betrayal gambit turns out all for nought. Ruthlessness has its electoral limits. So the next British Prime minister will be a woman, Theresa May. How long she can keep the job without calling an election remains to … Continue reading

Posted in anti austerity, austerity, Uncategorized | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Iraq Chilcot inquiry report published.Tony Blair criticized for proceeding to war without carefully vetting intelligence.Crabb drops out of leadership race and along with Fox endorses May.

The UK Iraq war Inquiry report under the direction of Sir John Chilcot has been published. It strongly criticizes the British Prime Minister at the time, Tony Blair, for having rushed the decision to go to war on the basis … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment

May 165, Leadsom 66, Gove 48, Crabb 34, Fox 16. Fox eliminated in British Tory leadership race.

The first round results are out in the British Conservative governing party leadership race to succeed David Cameron. Theresa May is the big winner with 165 first round votes Andrea Leadsom a distant second with 66 votes followed by Michael … Continue reading

Posted in Uncategorized | Leave a comment